[Nygma]’s not as smart as he would otherwise be and he is trying to send Penguin riddles to meet up so they can square off, but the riddles are so terrible that Penguin can’t figure them out. It culminates in a great scene between the two of them and [Robin Lord Taylor and Cory Michael Smith] were just absolutely fantastic.
Okay, but was I the only one who thought that there wasn’t just rage and anger in Oswald’s voice, but a tinge of sadness too??? Cause omg! I’m so glad though, that he seemed happy later despite what happened!
now that i’m caught up on Gotham, i needed to rant and vent a bit about it
mostly about oswald and ivy
because ugh what the hell
so here goes
(also this might make no sense because i’ve only watched the new episodes once each and it’s been a couple days so i’m probably missing details/getting things wrong because memory is not perfect, and also my brain keeps jumping all over the place)
YES!! I agree with everything you said about Ivy and Oswald!! They had such a great dynamic for it just to be ruined. I mean it’s like you said in a family you have to get used to the annoying/angering traits with the people you live with and learn how to deal with it and move ahead. It’s not impossible. It all really just seems like a crappy excuse to turn Ivy againat Oswald.
And let me just say, I love how you said that Ivy really was dumb in trying to help out Oswald’s enemies. Like Ivy really. I wonder if maybe she would do that in the past and chime in when she should really hold her tounge. I mean Oswald is trying to run things. He needs to appear in control. Ivy really can’t just pipe in. That would make Oswald look bad. Just saying. Maybe that’s why Oswald started being mean to her to. I mean what if she screwed something up and he lost respect or trust in her because of it. We all know how hard Oswald has worked to be where he is at.
I have to wonder how much self-loathing came crashing down on Ed, once Oswald confessed to killing Isabella, and realizing he’d given the same excuses to Kristen when he confessed to killing Dougherty.
Maybe that’s why, when he grabbed Oswald’s face, he seemed to go from angry to hurt. Maybe he saw himself, pathetically begging for understanding, in Oswald’s eyes and couldn’t stand how similar they really were. Quite possibly the catalyst for his obsession with destroying Oswald.
“If he goes away, that part of me goes away too, and nothing will ever hurt me again.”
Oh, umm, I actually don’t think he felt any self-loathing over that. In fact, I think Ed would be furious if anyone tried to compare the two situations. He would use the defense that Dougherty was abusive while Isabella was innocent. And while I don’t disagree with that, I think he’d be missing the point that killing someone’s gf/bf without their knowledge because you thought it was in their best interest, is just wrong. Also the “I killed him because he was hurting you” excuse doesn’t work for why he killed Kristen. Just going to draw attention to the last gif for a second:
There’s a reason I decided to include the footage of him strangling her instead of just cutting off after his words. It’s to show the irony in telling a woman that you were just trying to protect her from abuse, while strangling her with one hand and covering her mouth with the other. Also, he kills her right after she says that she’ll turn him in and he’ll be sent to Arkham. It definitely wasn’t an accident but I think Ed has probably convinced himself that it was. So, I really don’t think he would make the connection between the two situation, despite the similarities.Â