From umbrella boy to king.
Forever proud of him :’)
Shit sound, quality content
OKAY, BUT I CAN’T BE THE ONLY ONE WHO GOT NYGMOBBLEPOT FEELS FROM THIS.
Oswald + Fear
I know how murdering people in cold blood is bad and shit, but to me this is one of the worst thing that has been done to someone in gotham.
It just made me so angry.Ya, thatâs his fatherâs corpse⊠doesnât get more fucked up than that.
Donât even come at me again saying he deserved this from all the things Ed did to him for revenge, i know Oswald is a very sick person and has done terrible things too but this was too much and didnât even suit the character development for Nygma. Just. too.much.
Oswald in the season 4 trailer.
#but you were ok with Falcone back in s1#and apparently still willing to do deals there#goddammit Jim#donât make me cross before the season starts (@sunlitroom)
right??? Also, remember that when Oswald was mayor, crime was way down and the economy was doing great.Â
It really does seem that Jim thinks Oswald is the cause of all his problems or something. I mean Oswald has helped him out so many times and really only asked him to do something bad like once since Jim would just take and take and not respect Oswald at all or treat him nice.
Not only that, but I just started rewatching season 2, ad there are far worse villains there who have actually made Jim suffer and given him a beatdown. Why he seems to hate Oswald so much, I just can’t even???? He needs to get his self righteous head out of his ass, if you ask me!!
Isabella realizing that Oswald is also in love with Ed.Â
I wonder if this is another reason why Oswald wanted Isabella dead?
I mean, if sheâs able to see through him so easily about a vulnerability of his, I could see that adding fuel to the fire of his jealousy?
He looks startled and terrified, and a terrified Penguin never does well. đŠ
Maybe. I mean thereâs really no excuse for what he did but youâre right, he does genuinely look scared.Â
#this was such a poor writing decision
YESSS
Whenever thereâs a new character to introduce, it seems like the writers give the actors time to figure out the character and what they do to develop the plot, but Isabella is like a momentary cough.
Chelsea is a really good actress, just seeing her as Kristin Kringle. She deserved to have a chance to explore this character instead of being given a few traits (âsheâs obsessed with tragic love!â, âshe can tell during a five-minute conversation that Oswald is in love with Ed too!â, âsheâs a librarian who can accurately recreate a dead woman from a few pictures!â) and then is killed off a few episodes later.
Iâm sure that this rant has been echoed by a number of people in fandom before whoâve said it more concisely or more eloquently than I have, but with a show like Gotham, each character has to have a point, or else theyâre just taking up screen time from characters who can move the plot along.
All Isabella does is:
(A) Vertigo reference, woo! Letâs dislocate our arm with how vigorously weâre patting ourselves on the back for being so Smart!
(B) Cockblock Nygmobblepot from happening when this show has absolutely no problem with showing Barbara/Tabitha being in a romantic/sexual relationship.
© Give Ed a convenient excuse to try to kill Oswald, because every single potential romantic relationship can never be happy (despite the fact that I know of at least one show where the writers pulled it off, and it was lovely).
Just. Ugh. Iâm cynically positive that the writers will never touch on Isabella again, because acknowledging Isabella would mean having to admit that they screwed up her plotline something awful, but I still wish they would try to salvage something from it.
Ya, I really doubt sheâs ever going to be brought up again. If there was any hidden agenda, it would have been revealed in season 3. The time has passed now. We have to accept that she really was a random woman who fell for Ed.Â
Iâm just so bothered by the way this was used to twist Oswaldâs love into something negative. Oswald is capable of making sacrifices for his loved ones. He put himself in danger to help Jim so many times in seasons one and two, even though Jim treated him like dirt. He announced to the GCPD that he was alive when Jim was accused of murdering him, even though it put his life in danger from Falcone and Fish. He went to Arkham for killing Galavan, even though he was just covering for Jim. And in 3×14, he was willing to die rather than give up Ed to the trio. Heâs someone who loves intensely but by having him kill Isabella out of jealousy, the writers paint his love as a bad thing. And now they can just say that these two characters can never be together because Ed will never forgive him for killing his girlfriend (who was apparently the love of his life after knowing her for like a day and a half).Â
Man, youâre so right about Oswald and Jim in S1 and S2. Like, who else wouldâve voluntarily gone to Arkham to cover for Jim? That was some serious self-sacrifice for Jim, and there was no gain for Oswald. The most he got out of it was asking Ed to visit his motherâs grave while he was in Arkham.
RLT has mentioned a time or two that Oswaldâs idea of love is so twisted, but at the same time, he loved his mother, he loved his father (I bet even regular Oswald wouldâve loved his father dearly), and he seriously cared about both Jim and Ed.
Isabellaâs death just feels like a plot device because Ed literally knew her for maybe a week, tops? I think? How can she be the love of your life if youâve only known her a short time? Infatuation, sure, but true love? Either Edâs getting her confused with Kristin â like a version of Kristin who knew his dark side and actually loved it â which doesnât do justice to Isabella herself whatsoever, because sheâs being compared to Kristin and being remembered in relation to Kristin.
Or the writers are reminding the audience with the subtlety of a baseball bat to the face that Ed is straight, despite the fact that he literally told Oswald the episode before that he would literally do anything for Oswald, and he was such a fanboy when he nursed Oswald back to health and gave him a place to stay.
Itâs such⊠amateur writing, I guess? I would rather have had Ed be honored and flattered that Oswald loves him, and try to let Oswald down easily that, um, he doesnât swing that way rather than have the Isabella plotline even happen in the first place. Yes, itâs such a comic book move to happen, but Gotham can do things as a TV show that a comic book canât, and the writers need to take those kinds of risks.
Even if Nygmobblepot never happened in canon, thatâs never stopped fandom in a million years.
What is going on behind you? season one
Forever love that last gif of how Oswald escapes by himself. He is such a survivor. Proud of my smol murderous bird.
Jim you asshole. Oswald has done so much for you, most of the time asking for nothing in return, risking his skin for you. And not to mention being so happy to see you and inviting you to parties, and how do you treat him – like dirt. (Granted in this scene, Jim was worried about Barbra, but not like Oswald knew and that doesn’t really excuse his behavior the other times).
I mean, yeah, Oswald is a criminal and a remorseless killer a lot of the times, but like??? Get your sensible moral compass out of your butt. No wonder Oswald begins fighting back and making sure Jim’s debts start to get paid.
1×14 The Fearsome Dr. Crane
Donât worry Os, weâre confused, too.
Hes not confused he knows what hes talking about. Maroniâs mashing up two proverbs as a pun and a back handed compliment: A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush + Possession is nine tenths of the law.
 Oswalds reaction is haha yeah ya cock but hes also starting to realise Maroniâs onto him and isnât really as stupid as he thinks. This is the same scene where right after Fish rings and tells Maroni Oswald is Falconeâs plant. Oswald then pretends hes not listening to the conversion by bugging a waiter about a smudge on a knife instead but he realises somethings going on too. Maroni Asks Oswald to go with him out of town âto see a guy about a thingâ and Oswald tries to get out of it but he cant, this is what leads to the fall out between him and Maroni. Â
( This is a big intimidation / scare tacit because its damn obvious there is no guy with a thing, Maroni is pushing Oswald into a corner where he has to âoutâ himself as a rat, proving that no hes not the big dumb gorilla Oswald takes him for and Oswaldâs starting to see it. He tries to get one up on Maroni by taking his gun to kill him but Maroni anticipated that too. Thats why Maroni actually showed him the gun and where it was located just before they entered the cabin )Â
Basically Oswald slipped up by telling Maroni he sized the club in the brazen way he did. Maroni is the one who called Oswald out on his hubris which is really Oswaldâs biggest weakness.Â
P much: Oswaldâs a cocky little smart ass. He always considers himself smarter than / above everyone else and while hes USUALLY right his arrogance can be exploited. This was done to show that Oswald might be a grand chess master but hes not faultless. It should have set up Season 2 but LOL it all went to hell bc the writers wanted to mix things up presumably after getting bad reviews and dropped / changed a ton of shit to take Gotham from the relatively satisfying crime drama / batman prelude it was to some other rushed, awkward premature âsuperheroâ bullshit it is now.Â
( Note in particular the references to Indian hill in s1, especially Oswaldâs knowledge of it, Â that donât actually carry on into s2 and seem to rather change into something else entirely and/or arenât really visited again or explained. )Â